Wednesday, December 31, 2008

A Year in Review

Well, another year is almost over. I ask myself every New Year’s Eve, “Where does the time go?” and “Why does it go by so fast?” I suppose it shouldn’t matter so much as long as there is something of value that I can take from the past year. Plus how many cherished memories I can tuck within my heart. 


So, maybe the question I need to ask myself is, “What have I done this year that was useful or purposeful?” I believe that as long as I can answer that question and feel good about the answer, then I’ve succeeded. It may have only been one year in my life, but hey, we don’t know how many years we have now do we? So, for one year I’ve been a success. I was useful and I had a purpose, because I am able to answer that question honestly, to myself. That question is one that is meant for me, no one else. I’m patting myself on the back. And No, I’m not breaking my arm.


If you’ve been purposeful in your life, then be happy and proud. For pride isn’t conceit. Pride is something people strive for but very few ever achieve. So many people mistake arrogance for pride. Arrogance is envy in disguise. Be proud if you succeeded in 2008 and pat yourself on the back! Make a 2009 New Year’s resolution that you will enjoy every moment and be even more purposeful. If you haven’t found your purpose, resolve to find it. However remember that a year in your life is a goal unto itself, because none of us are guaranteed anything.

In closing, I want to say "Thank you" to some fellow bloggers who have made me laugh and have educated me over the last year, as well. I hope your New Year is happy and prosperous and filled with many days at the keyboard. You’ve made my last year worthwhile and I thank you for that. My list isn’t inclusive, so please don’t be offended if you aren’t on it.

Mickey at With Bias, Angel at Woman Honor Thyself, Pat at Pat J Knows it all, Pasadena at Pasadena Closet Conservative, Jayne at Brit & Grit, Debonair Dude at Our World as We See it, The Wiz Kid at Right Wing Wiz Kid, Jon at Jon Swift and Incognito at Confessions of a Closet Republican.

See you next year my friends.

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Money Tree

A secret source has revealed that Horticulturists have been secretly cultivating a special species of tree and it’s official. The Deciduous Wampum Contumacious is complete. The Green Team, a top secret team hired by Congress, has been working 24/7 and finally completed its creation well before schedule.

Thankfully, and not a moment too soon, because this 2nd bailout is costing taxpayers another 800 billion dollars. The only glitch in this miraculous situation is who is going to pluck the greenbacks from the branches. It’s been reported that top Horticulturists have been fighting amongst themselves, even resorting to calling one another names such as dirt bag, dandelion and even petunia! If this childish fighting doesn’t stop, and soon, there’s no telling when the bills will be plucked and if the fresh dollars will be delivered in time to save the Big Three.

When reporters questioned senior staff members about the deciduous factor of the trees they were told, “The Wampum trees bud and grow faster than Congress can spend or even print money. When the trees shed their greenbacks they fall to the ground and wrinkle, then we have to press them. Plucking the greenbacks from the branches is better because the bills look fresh. Like they were printed from the printing press.”


With Wampum Trees we can ditch the toilet paper and start using our money in the bathroom-at least it will be good for something.

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Operation Uphold Truth

John Zeigler did a poll, which is a prelude to a documentary he’s preparing called Media Malpractice. After watching this video you’ll see that it’s appropriately named.



Watching that video was actually excruciating for me. It was painful to keep my anger at bay. I knew the bias-left-winged media was lax in reporting the truth about Obama’s associations. I knew the media was negatively slamming Sarah Palin just as SNL was using her to boost their ratings. It’s just that actually seeing proof of the media’s negligence is so horribly disturbing. I mean people actually voted without knowing who controls Congress for Pete’s sake! I’m not a Political genius, but I do know who’s in control of Congress; who our Speaker of the House is; who the Democratic majority leader is; and I know who said what during the damn election.

Why do I know? Not because I watch Fox News. But because I’ve researched and dug and read until my eyes burned. Just because the news said it’s so doesn’t mean it’s so. Don’t get me wrong, I like Fox News and I think they’re pretty fair-however, they are the media and I trust the media only a tad more than I trust the government-which isn’t much.

I’m appalled at how absolutely stupid so many Americans are. They think because MSNBC or NPR reported it it's gospel. What morons! I don’t even watch my local news stations. They describe Breaking News as 100 cats found in a house-Owner being charged with animal cruelty. And that affects me and a million other people how? Heck, even the weather forecast is wrong 80% of the time!

The media’s responsibility is to report information that affects the population. In an election the media is responsible to report all the facts about all the candidates- positive and negative. They are fraudulent distorting a story to favor one candidate over another. And they are negligent if they purposely omit information that is relevant.

It is apparent the media did a damn good job of omitting plenty of information regarding Obama and it’s obvious they were diligent in skewing information about Sarah Palin. It’s evident my fellow Bloggers and I have our work cut out for us. We need to Spread the Truth and OUT (Operation Uphold Truth) the media, because the Left’s mission is to stifle the facts.

 So, let’s get going, Bloggers, and OUT the media!

Friday, November 14, 2008

Palin is Stayin

The election’s over, but the hype, positive and negative, of Governor Sarah Palin is still going strong. People are wondering why. Why is Sarah Palin so loved? Why is she so hated? Why is she still such an icon in the media? Well, it’s because she is so loved and hated that the media can’t leave her alone.

Sarah Palin is an enigma to the Left. She’s genuine. She’s modest. She walks the walk. What you see is what you get. She is a wife, a mom, a daughter, a sister, and above all else, she's a real woman.

The Femyrants can’t handle her. They are afraid of Sarah because she embodies true women's liberation. Sarah is a working mom, with a husband, who balances it all with a smile on her face and is truly happy. The Femyrants are envious. They are such a bitter bunch of men-haters and Sarah is making them look bad. After all, Hillary is married to a man who is a liar and a cheat; so it’s easy to embrace her--Poor thing is mistreated by that bastard husband of hers--See all men are scum. But wait! Sarah threw a wrench into that theory! She is married to a real man who supports, loves and respects her.

Sarah’s life proves to women that you can balance a career, husband and children and be happy. Sarah’s life conveys to women that you can find a good man and actually love him and he you. Sarah’s life chronicles (no pun intended) that with good choices and hard work you can achieve your goals. This scares the hell out of the Femyrants. They’ve been spewing hate about men for years. They are now faced with a woman who is not only beautiful on the inside, but also on the outside, who has a man that is just as genuine and unpretentious as her. What are the men saying about Sarah…oh yeah…SHE’S HOT! I don’t recall any men saying that about Hillary! Sarah is a threat to the ugly-men-hating-Femyrants.

Well, Femyrants, here’s something to fuel your fear some more--PALIN IS STAYIN. Get used to seeing her in the media and behind a podium. Washington is waiting to welcome her and we Conservatives are rolling out the red carpet.

Saturday, November 8, 2008

Divided We Will Fail

Are we the United States of America? Or are we more divided than ever?

The Democrats are on an all time high. They are a bit bummed about losing the filibuster proof Senate, but they still have a great majority. One would think that would satisfy them. But NO. They want to strip Lieberman of his Chairmanship because he endorsed McCain. Al Franken wants a recount. What slime. He lost, but wants to spend tax payers’ money to prove it. Democrats are such sore losers. It is what it is, Al. Just as it is what it is in the Presidential election. Obama won.

There are many Americans that don’t want to accept Obama as our President. They’re already on the Hate-Obama bandwagon. Voter fraud and voter intimidation has been alleged. I don’t know if voter fraud played a part. I don’t even want to go there. I NEED to believe that it was a fair election. That may sound naive to some. But I REFUSE to stoop to the Democrats' level and demand a recount like the 2000 election. That is just plain WRONG.

It’s been said throughout the blogosphere and media that race didn’t play a part in this election. Yet 95% of blacks voted for Obama. That speaks volumes. With all that being said, and much left unsaid, I believe we are still very much divided. I’ve always believed JUSTICE to prevail. And as of today, I still do. While I respect the opinions of the American people and even my fellow bloggers-I won’t join in on the Obama bashing. I saw what the Democrats and the biased-left-winged media did to President Bush from day one. From the election recount to their hate-mongering and their Hate-Bush bandwagons--he didn’t get a chance. How can a President run a country effectively when half of it is against him? How can a nation unite when half of it hates its President?

I won’t lie, I’m frightened. I’m fearful Obama isn’t what he appears. I’m afraid of his radical associations and ideas. I’m afraid of all he’s said and everything he hasn’t. I’m afraid for my future and the future of my children. I also fear for the very foundation of our beautiful country. I believe in our Founding Fathers and our Constitution and what it represents to every American. I fear everything our country symbolizes will be changed or damaged and those transformations will be irrevocable. America needs Obama to succeed. And that’s why I’m not going to bash Obama.

I’m going to stick with my belief that justice prevails and hope that the change theme that Obama spread throughout his campaign is the change that’s best for our beautiful, free country. I hope that once he is versed with all the intelligence information he will see he CAN'T sit down with rogue dictators without preconditions. I can only pray that he will keep our country as safe as President Bush has for the last 7 years. I hope he doesn’t take us down the same roads a Carter or FDR presidency took this country with recessions, depressions and new deals--OR worse.

With that being said, I will blog and write my opinions, but I will not participate in the Obama bashing. However, if Obama does something that is detrimental to our country, I will not hesitate to shout out via my 1st Amendment right. So, for now--I will give him a chance. And that’s more than the Left ever did for President George W. Bush.

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

The Vote has been Cast

Our 1st black president has been elected and this is an historic day for our country. I watched the entire election coverage, so, in a sense, I watched history in action.

I was rooting for John McCain, because I believed he was the best candidate for our country. I’m not a sore loser, so I won’t diminish Bark Obama’s victory. I’m disappointed, yes, but the American people have spoken--–the votes have been cast.

Senator McCain gave a gracious speech. His acknowledgement of Senator Obama’s campaign and victory was exemplary. I didn’t expect anything less from such an honorable, courageous man.

President Elect Obama’s speech was outstanding, I must admit. He is a charismatic presence and as such can captivate you with his eloquent words. I only hope that they aren’t just pretty words spoken in the appropriate way just to appease a crowd. I hope he is true to his word and really is for change that is for the greatness of our country and her people.

Monday, November 3, 2008

Let our Eagle Soar

I’ve always believed that for an Eagle to soar free and majestic about our great nation it needs a left and right wing. That being said, we Americans need a left and right viewpoint in our democracy to balance out our politics. In about 24 hours our Eagle will take flight with a new vision for our nation. I can only hope that its left wing isn’t severely damaged and it can fly as balanced and glorious as our Founding Fathers, in their remarkable foresight, believed it should.

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Obama IS for Change

Obama is for Change alright. He’s going to change Washington, the economy, taxes, the poor, the middle class, the disenfranchised, the constitution---change, change, change. Since he has a lot of changing to do, he’s already started. He said he’s going to raise taxes on those who earn $250k a year or more. Then just the other day he said he was going to raise taxes on those who earn $200k a year. What? I thought it was $250k. Then Bidden said they were raising taxes on those who earn $150k a year. So, which is it Senator Change? Are you raising taxes on those who earn $250k, $200k or $150k? I can answer that. If Obama gets elected he’s going to do whatever he and his Democratic buddies damn well please and he’s going to tell the American Idiots that voted for him, “Well, I told you I was for change.” It appears he changes with the wind. He even believes the righteous wind is at his back. The only thing righteous about him is his attitude, which, like his judgment, is misplaced.

Saturday, October 25, 2008

Obama Failed Economics

I’m not a rocket scientist; however I do know you can’t grow the economy from the bottom up, as Obama has affirmed he’s going to do if he’s elected President. Obama said he’s going to raise taxes on those who earn 250K or more and spread the wealth to those who don’t, including 40% of Americans who don’t pay any taxes at all. It’s hard for me to understand why anyone with a brain would vote for Obama for this very reason. My question to Obama supporters is this, “When was the last time you got a job from a poor man?” I can answer that question for every American, NEVER. Poor men can’t create jobs. When the rich have money to spend they spread the wealth. Hypothetically, I get my hair done every week by Sue the hairdresser. When I get a tax cut, I have extra money, so I decide to spread my wealth by going to Sue twice a week. Going to Sue twice a week gives Sue extra money. Now Sue and her husband Fred can go to dinner once a week. Sue also has a poodle that she’d like to have groomed. She can have Fluffy trimmed once a month. This groomer has to hire a new employee. And the cycle continues downward. The wealth and jobs are created from the TOP; from the rich. Here comes Obama who raises my taxes which is going to leave me with less money. Sorry, Sue, I have less money now, so I can only get my hair done twice a month. Now Sue has less money so she stops getting Fluffy groomed; the groomer lays off its extra employee and Sue and Fred can’t go out to eat once a week anymore either. So the cycle again continues downward. Raising taxes on the rich trickles down hurting the middle and lower income brackets. This doesn’t take a degree in economics, just common sense. Obama must’ve missed that class in college; or he just plain failed economics. I’d like to see his college transcripts. Oh, wait, he doesn’t have to show proof of citizenship or even medical records, so college records are off limits, too.

Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Joe Quacks Again

At a rally in Greeley, Colorado, Senator Biden referred to the 3rd Presidential debate when John McCain told Barack Obama that he wasn’t George Bush. Joe Biden said of McCain, “He doth protest too much.” Excuse me; McCain said it ONCE, Joe! Oh, wait, I forgot, Joe can’t count. Biden went on to tell a story about his younger years when he wanted to hang out with an unsavory bunch and his mother told him no, because you are the company you keep. He tried the old argument that he wouldn’t act like them. His mother said, “Joe, if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck, then it’s a duck.” Biden told his crowd, “If it looks like George Bush and acts like George Bush, then it’s the same old George Bush economic policies.” Well, he's finally admitting it! If it looks like Bill Ayers and acts like Bill Ayers, then it’s the same anti-American beliefs. Let’s take it one step further, if it looks like Reverend Wright and acts like Reverend Wright, then it’s the same anti-white radical beliefs. How about ACORN… I think you get my point. Every time Joe opens his mouth he proves Obama isn’t worthy, or prepared, for the White House. Keep on quacking, Joe.

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Joe Said It’s So

Joe Biden has recently admitted to the American people that having Barack Hussein Obama as President of The United States of America insinuates we will be attacked so you better be prepared.

"Mark my words," Biden said Sunday at the second of two fundraisers in Seattle. "It will not be six months before the world tests Barack Obama like they did John Kennedy. The world is looking. We're about to elect a brilliant, 47-year-old senator president of the United States of America. ... Watch, we're gonna have an international crisis, a generated crisis, to test the mettle of this guy."

Yippee-Skippee! Can’t wait to traipse out to the voter booth and pull the lever for Obama! I really want to test Obama's competence in a time of an international crisis. I’m really curious to experiment with our national security, aren’t you? I’m just fascinated to know this guy’s grit right smack in the middle of a national catastrophe. On the job training is just perfect for our Commander and Chief, don’t ya think?

Biden went on to say that, “I've forgotten more about foreign policy than most of my colleagues know." And he promises us that we’ll be sitting around asking why Obama will be down in the polls while President. Seems to me he’s forgotten not to let the public know how extremely stupid he sounds right about now. I mean really, to promise the American people an international crisis during an Obama Presidency which isn’t going to be administered properly which will lead the American people to question Obama’s judgment is just plain, well…stupid. But what can you expect from a man that can’t count? Senator Joe should remember more to keep his mouth shut, because his prophecies could very well be the downfall of this election. But hey, maybe that’s his intention. After all, Joe said he’d rather run against John McCain because the presidency isn’t something that lends itself to on the job training. Well, Joe said it’s so.

Monday, October 20, 2008

Color is as Color does

When Colin Powell was our Secretary of State I had such respect for the retired General of our US Army. He was a commanding figure that understood the evil we faced abroad in the war on terror and supported President Bush and our endeavors in this war until his resignation in 2005. After hearing about his endorsement of Obama, I’m so disappointed in him. I’m convinced his endorsement of Obama is biased. They are both black. Yep. I said it. BLACK. I’ve said it before, I’m not politically correct. I’m just livid over Powell’s decision. Our economy is in trouble, yes; however, our national security is most important and a decorated war hero should know the dire straits of that. Obama isn’t qualified to protect our nation. Obama isn’t ready to lead a nation in its time of war. Powell knows this better than anyone. If the current situation were only about taxes and our economy, I could accept his decision. Powell knows McCain is more than competent to pilot and protect us during wartime. For Powell to say that the American people don’t have the right to know Obama’s religion or his relationship with the American terrorist, Bill Ayers, the black supremacist,Reverend Wright, and the deceitful group, ACORN, is like saying we don’t have the right to know what our spouse is doing. When a person is running for public office, especially President of the United States, he must prove he is of good moral character which means he should have associates of such value also. Guilt by association can’t be used in this situation. You are the company you keep. And if Obama is keeping company with black supremacists, domestic terrorists and fraudulent community organizers, well, you know what he is then.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

Liars, Thieves and Cheats…Oh My

What's up with these politicians that run on family values, blah, blah, then get caught in public restrooms trying to pick up other men; emailing sex messages to teenage boys; keeping 3 mistresses while married; putting prostitutes in jail while paying thousands of dollars for a whore for yourself...and the list goes on. Not that other men don't do the same sick, twisted, illegal actions. The difference is the average Joe isn't in the public eye spewing lies about his integrity using tax dollars. Then you have the wives of these disgusting pig politicians standing next to them while they read from their prewritten apology like they truly feel remorse. They’re only sorry they got caught. The apologies are as genuine as their integrity speeches that got them elected in the first place. What’s wrong with these women? They have to know how ridiculous they look standing next to their so-called husbands on national television. If it were me…I’d go in front of that camera and just as he began his hypocritical, prewritten apology, I’d kick him in his crotch and walk away.

Saturday, October 18, 2008

Spreading the Wealth

While wondering how I came to be a Republican, some memories of my younger years came to mind. I recall my bio-mother, who was on welfare, saying, “Democrats are for the poor and Republicans are for the rich.” In my impressionable mind, her being a Democrat with no job and on welfare, and my dad, a Republican with a good job who sent child support payments every month and supplied my siblings and me with health and dental care, I thought, "Democrats were poor and Republicans were rich." And decided, “I want to be rich; I want to be a Republican!” I suppose that wasn’t the message my bio-mother was trying to convey to me; but it was the message I received because I detested her being on government assistance. She was more than capable of working; however, she chose to receive food stamps and medical assistance. As far as I was concerned, the Democrats enabled her to stay in that perpetual condition of poverty by providing her with handouts rather than telling her she didn’t qualify because she was healthy enough to get a job and take pride in herself and earn her own way. I also remember former President Jimmy Carter on television during the Iran hostage crisis. I hated his pasty white face and that awful southern drawl. I remember asking, “Why aren’t we going after our Americans?” I don’t recall the answer to my question, but I do remember Ronald Reagan becoming our 40th President and lo and behold our hostages were released just minutes after he made his inauguration speech! Another revelation…Iran was afraid of this Ronald Reagan, who stood tall and proud and spoke in a rich, commanding voice. They obviously weren’t too intimidated by Jimmy Carter because they kept our Americans for 444 days, but Ronald Reagan sure daunted them. So, in my mind, Democrats were weak and Republicans were strong. I thought, “I want to be strong; I want to be a Republican!” I registered to vote as an Independent when I was 19 only because it was necessary to become a notary. I didn’t become interested in politics until about 8 years later during the 1992 election; however, I wasn’t able to vote because I was in the hospital giving birth to my 1st son. I’m no political expert; but I do know my convictions and they just happen to correlate with the Republican Party. I want less government involvement and less social programs. I want less taxes or more tax cuts for businesses, because I’m smart enough to know if businesses have more money they will “spread the wealth” and hire more people or even lower their costs. I think a higher minimum wage is stupid. Minimum wage wasn’t designed to raise a family. It’s for teenagers to earn some extra money; moms that want to reenter the work force once their kids enter school; or college students working their way toward a degree. Anyone that is trying to raise a family on minimum wage needs to go back to school and get a brain. I want the government to protect me, therefore, I support a strong military. I don’t want the government handling my health care. The government practically bankrupted social security and can’t supervise its own corrupt colleagues, i.e. Chris Dodd and Barney Frank. What makes me think it can properly oversee a complicated matter such as health care? It can’t and it wasn’t designed to. Our Founding Fathers knew the limitations of government so instituted our Constitution. I want the freedom to speak my mind with my gun in its holster as I close my bible so I can listen to my favorite talk radio station. Obviously those aren’t all my beliefs. I just found it ironic that my political convictions began at a very young age and I went the Republican route even though I grew up in a Democratic household where “spreading the wealth” was fully entrenched. From my point of view, having lived it, Barack’s plan to spread the wealth” isn’t a utopia but another form of slavery.

Monday, September 22, 2008

Be an Angel

ALS, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, a dis-ease I didn’t know a lot about until approximately December of 2002, when my sister-in-law was diagnosed at the extremely young age of 39. A mother of two beautiful children; a loving wife; a caring sister and daughter; a fun, lively friend, in the prime of her life, now faced the inevitably of death and our family faced the cold, callous reality that we were not only going to lose someone close to us, but watch it happen right before our very eyes and not be able to do a damn thing about it. Plus we would observe my brother-in-law while he suffered as he watched his wife, friend and mother of his children slowly die an agonizing death. This dis-ease would begin to rob his beautiful wife of the use of her extremities then slowly the ability to speak, and eat, and then it would result in her untimely death by robbing her of the ability to breathe. ALS, a.k.a. Lou Gehrig’s disease, is a dis-ease so debilitating, so merciless, that I would only wish it upon those who are truly evil.


If anyone would’ve asked me if I was the natural caretaker type, I would’ve answered, “No.” Now, however, I would have to say, “Yes.” I’ve always been a compassionate person and I’ve always taken care of the under-dog, so to speak. I practically raised my younger siblings, long story for another time perhaps. But I did so many of those tasks because I felt I had to; it was an obligation. My caring for my sister-in-law was different. I helped her because I wanted to. I waxed her eyebrow, gave her manicures and pedicures and dyed her hair. When she began to lose control of the dexterity of her hands and fingers, I lit her cigarettes and held them so she could smoke. I fed her and wiped her mouth and even helped her brush her teeth. I assisted her to the bathroom and aided her in getting dressed. I amazed myself because there wasn’t anything that I did that bothered me or gave me pause. There were many times she had me laughing because of something we or she would say or do. She actually made it fun. It was rare for her to cry or feel sorry for herself. Unlike me…I’m sure I would’ve been mad at the world.


It eventually got to the point where she could barely speak. Her lips and tongue just wouldn’t work properly and only sounds came out. We would begin with the letter "A" and go through the alphabet until she nodded at the appropriate letters to spell out words. It was so humiliating for her. Such a vibrant woman now reduced to constantly sitting in a chair; to being carried everywhere; being fed by everyone because she couldn’t even hold her own spoon. But she would still laugh and did her best not to feel sorry for her plight. Again, something I greatly admired because I don’t believe I could be so courageous.

In January of 2006, the monster, ALS, finally won, and we lost Marylou. To anyone who knew her, she was an inspiration because of her courage. For a woman so young and filled with vitality to know she is facing that harsh, cruel fate, and do it with a smile on her face, was truly extraordinary.

ALS affects approximately 5,000 people per year and while that is low compared to those who get cancer or some other dis-eases, ALS has no cure. The ALS Association has a lot of information and I hope you will read up on this horrendous dis-ease. I believe with knowledge comes power and power will one day provide a cure. But without funds there will be no research and without research, no cure. Please check out Marylou's Angels where you can make a secure on-line donation to the ALS Association and help us find a cure. Maybe you can't physically Walk to D'feat ALS but you can let your fingers do the walkin' and donate on-line at their web-site. Thank you for your support.

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Hillary’s Hell

Senator Clinton said, “Health Care is a God given right, not a privilege.” I almost choked on my coffee.

A God given right? What the heck was she talking about?

God given rights are the air we breathe, freedom, love…not health care.

What’s next? It’s a God given right for every American to own a house. Every family must have an automobile. Each adult should have a yearly vacation. How about mandatory cable television in every family room. Where would it end?

Well, with someone like Hillary Clinton, it wouldn’t. She wants total control of our paychecks and our lives. She would be worse than communism. She has an inferiority complex, and with power she would be a tyrant. Power would give her a false sense of self-worth. She would believe herself to be above reproach-almost God-like, which would make life for freedom-loving Americans, hell on earth.

Thursday, February 21, 2008

Back Off Buddy

I abhor driver’s that ride my bumper. It’s dangerous and illegal. I don’t suffer from road rage; however, if a driver gets on my tail, I soon become infected. My normal response, if I’m not alone in my vehicle, is to swear, complain and drive slower than the speed limit, which will tick off the Bumper Badger and provoke him into honking his horn and flailing his arms. When those tactics don’t get me to press my accelerator, he’ll either back off or become infected with road rage and illegally pass me while honking his horn, mouthing something I can’t hear and offer me some serious sign language. All this is ever so dangerous. But it gives proof to my passengers that the driver is everything I called him. After all, what sane person would pass you on a double yellow line, screaming goodness knows what, while flipping you the bird? The driver’s a menace! Where are the cops when you need them? I don’t, however, dare mention that it's ultimately my fault the other driver was coerced into behaving that way because I dropped to 10 miles per hour in a 35 mile per hour zone--enough to try a Saint’s patience, I’ll admit.

When I’m driving alone and have a Bumper Bully, I’m a bit more assertive. I spike my brakes while looking into my rear-view mirror, so the other driver can see my face and I put my fist up to the mirror, with my thumb facing toward him, while mouthing, “Back off!” Sometimes the Tailgater will oblige (probably because he thinks I’m crazy) and put a safe distance between us. Every once in awhile I’ll get a wacko that will purposely stay on my tail end, so, I’ll hit my brakes a few more times and perform my mirror ritual. He finally realizes I’m not going to stop spiking my brakes and he’s going to end up running into the back of my vehicle. He either backs off or he gets so irate he illegally passes me, with his mouth going a mile a minute and his hand performing sign language. These guys just aren’t creative. But again, this procedure isn’t safe and since I’m always preaching safety, I’m breaking my own rules.

So, how did I eradicate Tailgate Terrorists? Up until recently, I was at a loss and alternated between my Granny Driving and Brake Spiking whenever one of these morons got too close for comfort. However, coming home from downtown the other night, with a Bumper Bully no less, I had an epiphany. Rather than risk something dangerous by inflaming the idiot behind me and have him pass me illegally, or worse, run into my back end, I decided to cautiously act like a drunk driver. How does a sober, in control driver act like a drunk driver? Well, she slowly drives toward the berm of the road, without actually driving onto the berm, then slowly from the berm to the double yellow line, without actually crossing the line and then back to the middle of the road. Looking in my rear-view mirror I saw the Bumper Bully about five car lengths behind me. It worked! He was off my tail end.

If you find yourself a victim of a Tailgate Terrorist, cautiously act like an out of control driver and he’ll back off.

Thursday, February 14, 2008

Valentine’s Day

I’m not expecting a gift for Valentine’s Day. My husband and I made a pact years ago-no cards, flowers, candy, or jewelry. Keep the candy and the calories. Keep the flowers-they die. Keep the jewelry-I have more than I’ll ever wear. So, what would I like? I’m pretty simple. I’d like a back massage. That’s right, a back rub will turn me to putty. What’s great about that, it’s FREE. Now, if Hubby wants to spend money, then dinner at a nice restaurant is always a treat. I enjoy dining out. I love a good meal and great conversation. Hubby can’t go wrong with a back rub or dinner-ever. In short, Valentine’s Day isn’t about gifts; it’s about spending time together. Massage one another, talk with one another; make some popcorn and watch a video while snuggling on the sofa. Point being, you don’t have to spend a dime to show love. And instead of a card, tell each other how you feel with your actions, because they speak way louder than any words Hallmark prints.

Tuesday, February 5, 2008

Super Tuesday

Well, for many states, Pennsylvania not being one of them, it's Super Tuesday. We don’t have our primary until April. It’s raining here in Pennsylvania, hope that’s not a foreshadow of the election outcome.

I’m voting for Romney, when it’s my turn to vote. I’m a Conservative, if you couldn’t tell by any of my previous posts. I’m a red girl living in a blue state.

Anyway, I’m going to cast a prediction here on this blog. I think Obama will win the Democratic nomination today and I’m HOPING Romney wins the Republican nomination. Although, I’d take McCain over Obama, but I’d take Obama over Hillary. What a mess.

I’d like to wipe the entire slate clean and start over.

Thursday, January 17, 2008

The Correct Response

I suffer from migraine headaches. Thanks to my headache specialist, they’ve been reduced from twenty-four migraines per month to about nine. I take 150 mg of Topamax each day for preventative measures and an Imitrex tablet when one strikes. Sometimes I need two tablets to really break the monster, but they work and I’m so grateful.

A prescription of Imitrex comes in a package of nine pills and cost $359. Fortunately, I have insurance and can get two packages (18 tablets) for $20. My insurance will not pay for more than eighteen pills in any thirty day period. So, these little pink pills are like gold to me. On my last refill the Pharmacist told me she only had one package in stock because their shipment hadn’t come in yet and I could pick up the other package in a few days. This wasn’t a problem for me as I’ve been going to CVS for years and the Pharmacist has always treated me well.

A few days later I arrived at CVS’s drive-thru for the remainder of my Imitrex and a couple other prescriptions. Unfortunately I was waited on by the worst woman in the pharmacy department--this woman never smiles and only speaks when absolutely necessary. I figure her to be a miserable person in general or she just doesn’t like me. I politely told her I was only due one package of the Imitrex. She ignored me, never looked in the bag, handed it to me and gave me my total. I paid then bade her “good day”, which, of course, she ignored. I drove away, pulled onto the roadway then at the red light looked into the bag. Well, there were 2 packages of Imitrex, which meant that CVS was out $359 and I had nine extra precious pink pills.

I had to run some errands and while doing so I knew darn well I couldn’t, with good conscience, keep those pills. But before I went back to CVS, I rehearsed all the things I was going to say to Miss Miserable when I returned them. About two hours later I arrived at CVS, entered with Imitrex bag in hand and strode back to the pharmacy counter. Miss Miserable was there waiting on another customer. Her face never changed from its usual stiff discontent. (I think it’s safe to assume she was mad at the world and not just me). The customer left…my turn.

I stepped forward and said, “I don’t know why you chose to ignore me when I told you I was only due one package of Imitrex. It’s a good thing I’m honest or your pharmacy would be out three-hundred fifty-nine dollars.” I pulled both packages out of the bag. She grabbed the bag out of my hand and said, “Let me see who filled that!” I was flabbergasted that she tore the bag out of my hand. Yes, whoever initially filled it made the mistake; but she was wrong for not listening to me when I told her to check it! I looked at her and said, “The correct response is, Thank you.” I held out my hand for my package of Imitrex, which she handed me and I left the store.

I’m sure it didn’t sink into her bleached blonde head that it doesn’t matter to a customer where the mistake first happened. It could have been prevented had she just listened rather than worry about balancing that chip on her shoulder--and finger pointing has never solved anything. It sure wouldn’t have replaced the missing $359. People who finger point look incompetent, immature and just plain stupid, in my opinion. Figure out the quality control issue when the customer isn’t around. Until then, the correct response is--Thank you.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...